Sharon Urig – Principal

UrigContact: surig@smselyria.org

St. Mary School is a great place to learn and work! The children are courteous, cooperative, and active learners. The staff is welcoming and professional.

Sr. Mary Dorothy – Parish Catechetical Leader

SrMaryDorothyContact: smdt44035@gmail.com

SMS is a loving, close group that feels like family. The students are excited to learn, and the parents and staff give me great support.

Sandra Babb – Preschool Teacher

S-BabbContact: sbabb@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Preschool Curriculum

I enjoy being able to talk about God at any time and the family atmosphere here.

Nancy Knuff – Kindergarten Teacher and Assistant Principal

N-KnuffContact: nknuff@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Kindergarten Curriculum

 

The atmosphere around the campus is family-like. St. Mary is Christ-centered with a lot of parent support.

Peggy Quinn – First Grade Teacher

P-QuinnContact: pquinn@smselyria.org
Subject(s): First Grade Curriculum

We offer quality education. Our students are kind and loving, and parents are supportive. The staff members are caring and giving.

Stephanie St. Marie – Second Grade Teacher

S-StMarieContact: sstmarie@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Second Grade Curriculum

The history, strong faith, and people of St. Mary make it a great place to work. I have the pleasure of working with students and families who truly care about the quality of education they receive. St. Mary is family, and I am honored to be a part of it.

Laura Chaves – Third Grade Teacher

L-ChavesContact: lchaves@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Math, Reading, Social Studies, Science, English and Writing

St. Mary School is a warm, loving, family-oriented place to teach.

Natalie Kelley – Fourth Grade Teacher

N-KelleyContact: nkelley@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion, Math, Social Studies Gr. 4/5, English, Reading, Spelling

I absolutely enjoy the Catholic atmosphere and structure that make up the St. Mary community. The parents are involved and supportive, which are keys to the students’ success.

Natalie Popelka – Fifth Grade Teacher

Contact: npopelka@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion, Language Arts, Reading, Math, Science Gr. 4/5, Health Gr. 4/5

 

Michele Hunt – Sixth Grade Teacher

M-HuntContact: mhunt@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Religion Gr. 6/7/8, Social Studies/History Gr. 6/7/8, Health Gr. 6

The feeling of a family is what I appreciate most about teaching at SMS.

Kerry Faris – Seventh Grade Teacher

Contact: kfaris@smselyria.org

Subject(s): English Gr. 6/7/8, Literature Gr. 6/7/8, Health Gr. 7

 

Laura Krese – Eighth Grade Teacher

KreseContact:lkrese@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Science Gr. 6/7/8, Math Gr. 7/8, Health Gr. 8

Wherever you go, always leave a footprint!

Angie Pluta – Director of Development and Junior High Math Teacher

A-PlutaContact: apluta@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Math Gr. 6/7/8

Teaching at SMS feels like being with family.

Julie Goins – Technology Coordinator and Enrichment Teacher

J-GoinsContact: jgoins@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Computer Gr. K-8, Enrichment

 

St. Mary is my home away from home.

Dayanira Bergenstein – Spanish Teacher

DayaBergensteinContact: dayanava@hotmail.com
Subject(s): Spanish Gr. K-8

I like teaching Spanish at SMS because it’s my way of making language, customs, and cultures of Mexico, Spain, and South America known.

Ann McDonald – Music Teacher

A-McDonaldContact: amcdonald@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Music Gr. PreK-8, Lunch Choir

 

The best part of SMS is the support received by fellow faculty members and parents.

Chuck Martin -Physical Education Teacher

MartinContact: cmartin@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Physical Education Gr. PreK-8


I am blessed to be a small part of St. Mary School. I am inspired by the love and dedication demonstrated by the teachers and administration towards the students.

Susan Obral – Art Teacher

S-ObralContact: sobral@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Art Gr. Pre-8

I love the students, who are so eager to try art projects, and I love being in the center of Elyria.

Laura Ramsey – Instrumental Music Teacher

RamseyContact: lramsey@smselyria.org
Subject(s): Band Gr. 4-8, Recorder Gr. 3

SMS is a loving, close group that feels like family. The students are excited to learn, and the parents and staff give me great support.